Review The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines

 

There was something wicked about Beau that drew me to him. What was wrong with me? Why did I want to sin so badly

Ashton is getting tired of being good, of impressing her parents and playing ideal girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Sawyer is perfect, a regular Prince Charming, but when he leaves town for the summer, it’s his cousin Beau who catches Ashton’s eye. Beau is the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, and even though he’s dangerous, Ashton is drawn to him.

Beau loves his cousin like a brother, so the last thing he wants to do is make a move on Sawyer’s girl. Ashton is off-limits, absolutely. That’s why he does his best to keep his distance, even though he’s been in love with her forever. When Ashton wants to rekindle their childhood friendship in Sawyer’s absence, Beau knows he should say no.

Ashton and Beau don’t want to hurt Sawyer. But the more they try to stay away from each other, the more intense their urges become. It’s getting way too hard to resist….

Genre: YA Fiction
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Release Date: August 21, 2012
Page Count: 176
Source: My copy.
Rating: 2/5

I really don’t know what to feel about this book. I wanted to like it, but I just… didn’t.

I can only really describe it as choppy. The story was choppy, the characters, the writing style: it all felt very halfway done. I thought the characters were underdeveloped. Not in the sense that they didn’t stay true to themselves, but I just couldn’t picture them. The good girl/bad girl thing Ashton had going for her just didn’t do it for me. She was all bad: selfish, mean – there was one reference to a “nerdy looking” character in the book and Ashton’s reaction to him literally pulled me out of the story. I couldn’t believe how cruel she was towards this kid, it made me cringe. I don’t know what either of these boys saw in her, I can’t fathom why she is so special to them.

Beau was, of course, the redeeming quality in this book: sexy bad boy that he is, but still, I couldn’t picture him. I couldn’t get past the lack of depth of this novel to connect with him or anything else in this novel. Every “I love you” was an empty promise to me.

I felt that the author skipped through all the good parts. While the “oh shit” moments kept me intrigued, I felt the story went from Hello to Sex to I Love You to The End. Never did this novel go into detail of emotions, setting, story, or otherwise. It was just there.

I already bought the sequel (I really need to stop doing that), but I don’t think I’ll read on. At least not right now. The other characters (Sawyer, Lana) haven’t kept my attention enough to want to continue and I’m not going to force it.

About Lulie

Call me Lu. I'm a newbie book blogger and self-professed literature addict. Love my husband, my cat, and my books. View all posts by Lulie

Leave a Reply

